Three more days to go for the much awaited grand slam, yes it’s the U.S Open tennis, the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Centre is all prepared to witness the hard court tennis tournament. Originating from the U.S. National Championship of 1881, The US Open tennis is conducted every year from the last Monday of August to the final two weeks of September. Owned and organized by the United States Tennis Association  (USTA) the US open tennis conducts five event championships, men’s and women’s singles, men’s and women’s doubles, and mixed doubles, with additional tournaments for senior, junior, and wheelchair players. US open is the first grand-slam event to use instant replay system known as the Chase Review. For the first time in the history of US Open tennis, this year the open draw will be revealed to the public.

The grounds of the US Open Is a total of 22 courts consisting of four show courts, 13 field courts, and five practice courts. The 22547  seated Arthur Ashe Stadium was opened in 1997. The stadium was named after Arthur Ashe an African American tennis player who won the men’s final of the inaugural US Open of1968. Louis Armstrong Stadium, opened in 1978, was the main stadium from 1978 to 1996.The third largest court is the 6,000-seat Grandstand. In 2011, Court 17 nicknamed as The Pit was opened as a fourth show court, with large television screens and electronic line calling. Stan Wawrinka was the winner of men’s singles and  Angelique Kerber was the winner of women’s single in 2016. This year, who is going to be the champion? Let’s wait and see.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *